me="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1.0" />
Flash News

After amid stormy situations Edappady Palaniswamy won the trust vote

February 18, 2017

ta1Amid stormy scenes during which chairs toppled, MLAs pushed around, Speaker assaulted, mikes uprooted, sheets of files torn and hurled around, Sasikala loyalist/proxy E K Palaniswami won the trust vote 122-11 in the Tamil Nadu Assembly on Saturday.

Palaniswami won a resounding majority with 122 AIADMK MLAs supporting him during the vote of confidence. All the MLAs of the DMK and its allies — numbering 98 — were evicted which made things easy for Palaniswami.

Resultantly, former chief minister O Pannerselvam could manage only 11 votes. As soon as the crucial session of the Tamil Nadu Assembly which was to decide the fate of Palaniswamy-led government commenced at 11 am, the Opposition demanded to hold the trust vote on another day and allow secret ballot. Insisting on this two demands, Opposition leader and DMK working president MK Stalin said MLAs supporting Edappadi were brought like prison inmates from the Kuvathur resort where they have been holed up for the last few days.

ifhuidhO Panneerselvam, retired IPS officer and Mylapore MLA R.Nataraj and Congress legislators appealed to defer the trust vote, urging that the MLAs should return to their constituency, meet the people first before coming to participate in trust vote. As the Speaker rejected both the demands, the DMK legislators launched a protest. They besieged the Speaker and shouted slogans.

DMK MLA Poongothai Aladi Aruna climbed on a bench and shouted slogans demanding secret ballot. The DMK legislators soon turned unruly by breaking microphones and chairs forcing the Speaker to storm out of the house. The commotion continued even then as DMK MLA Selvam was seen occupying the Speaker’s chair amid the uproar. A staff in the House fainted during the hullabaloo and was rushed to a hospital in an ambulance. Following this, the House was adjourned till 1 pm. But protests started again at 1 pm following which the House was again adjourned till 3 pm.

paneerMeanwhile, the DMK legislators sat on a dharna and protested inside the House.By around 2 or 2.30 pm they were forcefully evicted by the watch and ward staff. Stalin was seen walking out of the Assembly building with his shirt ripped open. He told reporters that after the House was adjourned for the first time in the morning, Speaker summoned him to his chamber.

Stalin alleged the Speaker tore his shirt himself and told him DMK MLAs did this to him. Stalin claimed he apologised and asked the Speaker to hold the session properly and allow secret ballot. But Dhanapal did not pay heed to their demand. Following this the DMK legislators sat on a dharna inside the Assembly after the proceedings was adjourned for the second time till 3 pm.

Stalin said around 2.30 pm, over 500 watch and ward staff forcefully evicted DMK legislatures including him from the House.

The Opposition was not present in the assembly during the trust vote. Soon after DMK MLAs were forcefully evicted from the House, Congress MLAs staged a walk out. Soon, the vote was done and Edappadi was declared winner.

Like our page and get latest news update from USA, India and around the world. Stay updated with latest News in Malayalam, English and Hindi.

Print This Post Print This Post
To toggle between English & Malayalam Press CTRL+g

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Read More

Scroll to top